I'm Looking For...

Go To Search
Click to Home

Planning Commission
Applicants wishing to have items considered by the Planning Commission should contact the Planning Department.

Duties and Responsibilities

The Planning Commission is a five member appointed board who acts in an advisory capacity for most land use decisions of the City.  It acts as the land use authority for a number of issues, as well.

The planning commission shall have the following powers and duties with respect to the land use code:


The planning commission shall hear and decide requests for amendments to the land use sections of the Moab Municipal code. The planning commission may also act on its own initiative in considering and recommending amendments to the code. Before a favorable recommendation is given, however, it must be shown that:


The amendment will not be contrary to the land use plan;


The amendment will not militate against the fulfillment of any other provisions of the comprehensive plan;


The amendment will not decrease nor adversely affect the health, safety, convenience, morals, or general welfare of the public;


The amendment will more fully carry out the intent and purpose of the code;


That, balancing the interest of the petitioner with the interest of the public, both interests will be served better by adopting such an amendment.

In considering a request for an amendment to the zoning ordinance or map, the planning commission may submit a recommendation for or against the request or it may recommend an alternate amendment.


To review, approve, disapprove or approve subject to modifications, requests for permits to construct largescale developments.


Any other duty imposed on the planning commission under the terms of the code.

Regular meetings
  • 6 p.m.
  • Second and fourth Thursday of every month
  • City Hall, Council Chambers
    217 East Center St.
    Moab, UT
  • 5:30 p.m.
  • As needed
  • City Hall, Council Chambers
    217 East Center St.
    Moab, UT

Agendas & Minutes
Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
Most Recent AgendaView All Agendas and Minutes

The Planning Commission is a five-member board appointed by the mayor for a five-year term.
  • Jeanette Kopell
    Term Expires December 31, 2019
  • Allison Brown
    Term Expires December 31, 2017
  • Wayne Hoskisson
    Term Expires December 31, 2016
  • Joe Downard
    Term Expires December 31, 2018
  • Laura Uhle
    Term Expires December 31, 2020